HRC Staff

Rich Bowers, Northwest Coordinator
Bellingham, Washington
Email: rich at hydroreform dot org

Rich provides regional and national communication support to more than 36 members in the Northwest, including industry, agency and tribal partners regarding individual project licensing, and on issues such as hydropower strategy, training, and policy. Rich is the former Executive Director of American Whitewater, and before that, Conservation and Hydropower Program Director.  He is a founding steering committee member for both the Hydropower Reform Coalition and the California Hydropower Reform Coalition.  In addition to Northwest Coordinator, Rich has been a nonprofit consultant, board member and a volunteer river advocate for many issues since moving to Bellingham, WA from Maryland in 2001.


Keith NakataniDirector, California Hydropower Reform Coalition
Oakland, California
Email: knakatani at calhrc dot org

Keith took over the CHRC Director's position in August 2006. He coordinates coalition member participation in state hydropower policy reform, organizational development, and outreach and education. He has over 15 years experience conducting policy advocacy, managing programs, and coordinating coalitions with environmental and social justice organizations in the U.S. and abroad. He has a Bachelor's of Science in Soil Management from UC Berkeley.


Rupak Thapaliya, National Coordinator
Washington, D.C.
Email: rupak at hydroreform dot org

Rupak joined the HRC in 2007. As a Coalition staff, he is responsible for information interchange and strategy exchanges between Coalition members.  He provides support to the HRC chair in policy work and handles administrative functions for the Coalition.  Prior to working at HRC, Rupak interned with the Winneshiek County Soil and Water Conservation District in Decorah, Iowa and the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency in Collinsville, IL. Rupak obtained his MS in Environmental Policy from Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, IL, and BA in Environmental Management from Luther College, IA.