Wellinghoff Named FERC Chairman, Kelly Re-appointed


In an announcement made yesterday, President Barack Obama has designated Jon Wellinghoff to be the Chairman of Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and re-appointed Suedeen G. Kelly as a Commissioner.

Mr. Wellinghoff had been the Acting Chairman of the Commission since January 2009 when the then Chairman Joseph Kelliher stepped down. Wellinghoff who has been a FERC Commissioner since 2006, is seen widely as a strong supporter of renewable energy development.

Suedeen G. Kelly has served as a Commissioner at the FERC since November 2003. Ms. Kelly has also served previously as Chair of the New Mexico Public Service Commission, which regulats New Mexico’s electric, gas and water utilities.