US Senate Confirmes LaFleur and Moeller as FERC Commissioners


The US Senate, this week, confirmed Cheryl LaFleur as the fifth member of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and reconfirmed Philip Moeller for his second term.

According to FERC, LaFleur has more than 20 years experience as a leader in the electric and gas industry. She retired in 2007 as Executive Vice President and acting CEO of National Grid USA responsible for the delivery of electricity to 3.4 million customers in the Northeast. Her previous positions at National Grid and its predecessor New England Electric System included COO, president of New England distribution and general counsel.

Moeller, who has been with the Commission since July 2006, has been heavily involved in hydropower issues.

LeFleur’s term ends in 2014 and Moeller’s in 2015.