FERC, California Agree to Coordinate in Development of Hydrokinetic Projects

The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) and California have signed a Memorandum of Understanding to coordinate procedures and schedules at the federal and state levels for development of hydrokinetic energy projects off the California coast.

According to a FERC news release, FERC and California have agreed to the following:


New Web Tools To Facilitate Licensing of Small Hydro

After hearing from stakeholders at a technical conference in December 2009, FERC will now offer web-based tools that would ease the licensing process for development of small hydropower in the United States.

According to FERC, such tools will be available by August 2010 and will help developers understand the FERC licensing process, help improve coordination with other agencies, and help license applicants complete the process more quickly and efficiently.


DOI, DOE and Army Corps Sign a MOU: Federal Agencies To Look at Basin-wide Assessment for Hydropower Development

In what seems like a progress from conventional ways of looking at hydropower, federal agencies that own and operate hydropower projects around the country are collaborating to find ways to increase hydropower generation while at the same time protecting the non-power interests of the basin.

The officials of the Departments of Interior, Energy and Army, through the Army Corps of Engineers, today signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) that, among other things, looks to approach hydropower development from a basin-scale approach.


LaFleur is President Obama’s Pick for FERC Commissioner

President Obama has announced his intent to nominate Cheryl A. LaFleur as the Commissioner of FERC and reappoint Philip D. Moeller for another term.

If confirmed by the Senate, LaFleur would fill the position left vacant after Suedeen Kelly left the Commission earlier this year.

According to the White House,