John Norris to Join FERC

The Senate, last Thursday, confirmed John Norris to be the newest member of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.

Norris is currently serving as chief of staff for Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack. He served as the chairman of the Iowa Utilities Board from 2005 to 2009. He has also served as a member of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) where he was the Co-Chair of the 2009 National Electricity Delivery Forum.

There is still one vacant seat at the five-member Commission, after Suedeen Kelly recently left the Commission.

Key Words: 

Commissioner Kelly To Leave FERC

FERC Commissioner Suedeen Kelly will not be seeking a third term at FERC. President Obama had recently nominated Kelly to her third term but her nomination was pending in the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee.

Kelly will continue to serve in the Commission until her replacement is chosen.

Currently on her second term, Kelly has been a FERC Commissioner since December 2004. Kelly is a former law professor at the University of New Mexico School of Law and a former chair of the New Mexico Public Service Commission.

Key Words: